Starburst Fruit Chews

4 04 2007

Starburst

Starburst are a sweet product that have (d)evolved over the years. I remember as a child the original Opal Fruits, then they became Starburst, and now Starburst Fruit Chews.

I’m sure these had to have about 5 or 6 different flavours in each pack, I was quite disappointed to find there were only 4 in the new Starbursts, these are Strawberry, Orange, Blackcurrant and Lemon & Lime.

Strawberry flavour was probably the least strawberry-like sweet that’s ever been marketed as strawberry before. It wasn’t a terrible taste, it was just incredibly artificial, and too sugary to be considered a decent strawberry sweet.

Orange was a little better, but still very sugary, and not completely like orange. Very disappointing so far.

Blackcurrant was the best so far. I’m not too fond of real blackcurrants, but as far as realism goes, this was the best so far.

And when it came to Lemon & Lime, they may as well just forget the lemon part. The wrapper was green, and the flavour was all lime.

Overall these are pretty poor. I don’t remember much of the Opal Fruits, but people speak of them favourably, especially compared to these, and I can see why. Far too artificial, these are obviously marketed at children, as anyone with refined taste buds would no doubt be disappointed by these.

Actions

Information

12 responses

4 04 2007
cybele

The original flavors in the States were: orange, lemon, cherry & strawberry. I’ve never had a blackcurrant!

I wonder if the UK ones are that different in taste over the US ones. (We have a lot of different flavor varieties now, though I still prefer the original.)

4 06 2007
babycakes

mm i like the new starburst strawberry mixes and sours! 😛 the choozers arent to bad neither! 😀 ooo i love sweets lol how very young of me..but some people never grow out of sweets 😀

4 06 2007
Terry

Well I actually rebought these and the Strawberry Mixes because they changed their design to fit with the American packaging. So I’m going to revisit Starburst and hopefully the new packaging will also mean a new taste. I doubt it though…

4 06 2007
babycakes

omg the sour ones are the best much better than the original i can deff say that 😛

4 06 2007
Terry

I haven’t seen the Sour ones anywhere. My local shop only has the original ones and the Strawberry Mix ones or whatever they’re called.

5 06 2007
babycakes

*laughs* ill have to send you some then haha 😛

5 06 2007
Terry

Sounds good to me.

18 07 2007
Sera

Whoa….not only did they boot cherry for black currant, they replaced lime for lemon? Very strange….

18 07 2007
Terry

A bit harsh calling it strange? Maybe it’s America who’s strange for having cherry and lime instead. They’re just not popular flavours here, sorry.

18 07 2007
Sera

Hahaha, good point. I wouldn’t think lemon or lime (I meant to say they replaced lemon with lime…) would be popular here regardless. I do know lots of kids weeping over the missing cherry, but I wouldn’t mind, I love currant! 🙂

18 07 2007
Terry

I came across a bit moody there, sorry, but it reminded me when Cybele said a similar thing where we supposedly messed up one of America’s flavours when it actually turned out we made the candy first and it was exported to America where you guys in fact changed it. Yes I’m way too proud about being British over silly things. 😛

And blackcurrant is pretty disgusting IMO, I know I mentioned here it was the best flavour but that doesn’t say much, I’d much rather have cherry. And ours is lemon and lime, not one or t’other, though I’m pretty sure the sweet is green and that signifies lime to me.

1 01 2009
Concetta

These sweets are OK, I suppose, if there isn’t anything else like this to eat (such as Fruitella sweets). My favourite flavour is definetly the blackcurrant. The strawberry is far too sweet and sugary and the lemon and lime – forget it. But I like chewing on these sweets. :-I

Leave a Reply

