I’m not one to post news articles, but I figured that Chocablog hadn’t covered this, and it’s quite a big story, so I would.
You’ll see in this article that Mars have abandoned their plans to use animal rennet in their chocolate bars, and have apologised to vegetarians. They said it became “very clear, very quickly” that it wouldn’t be a good idea, after 6000 people bombarded them with emails and phone calls, as well as 40 MPs signing a petition against this (it’s rumoured John Prescott led the petition).
In case you didn’t know, rennet is extracted from calves’ stomachs, and Masterfoods (the company who owns Mars) were also planning to use it in their ice cream products as well.
Good news all round then, I guess.