Cadbury’s Creme Egg

5 06 2007

Creme Egg

The quintessential Easter confectionary. Much to the annoyance of a lot of people, these are only sold during Easter, and at that time are the best selling chocolates in England, at least according to Cadbury.

I’m sure everyone is familiar with what you get here, a foil wrapped chocolate egg, inside the egg is a whipped fondant cream, resembling of course, a real egg, with a white and orange fondant ‘yolk’. Egg whites are actually used to make these, though they’re right near the end of the ingredients list.

The adverts for these ask ‘How do you eat yours?’, showing a multitude of different people eating Creme Eggs in a multitude of different ways. Strangely enough everyone I know, including myself, just eats the damn thing normally. No dipping stuff in, or licking out the creme, instead just chomping away at it.

It’s hard to describe the taste of these, because if I’m honest…there isn’t much of one. It’s very sweet, and of course chocolatey, but there seems to be a distinct lack of any discernable taste. But something keeps making you want to buy them, and it’s no doubt the extreme amounts of sugar in these babies.

These are a little sickly, but if eaten on an empty stomach then I find I can keep it down alright, otherwise I’m usually not feeling too well after eating it. Still, when it’s Easter, get these in, because they are good and you won’t be getting them at any other time of the year.

Actions

Information

10 responses

5 06 2007
Sera

Have you tried the Creme Egg bar they they recently released? I am a big CCE fan, and I just loved the bar! It’s like each little section is it’s own CCE, and the ratios of creme/chocolate is right on, as opposed to the mini CCE’s which doesn’t have enough creme in them. I suggest giving them a try! 🙂

5 06 2007
anabels

We get the eggs year round here (New Zealand). Plus the peppermint ones which are even better as they aren’t so sickly sweet.

5 06 2007
Terry

I certainly have tried the Creme Egg bar! As you say it is very good indeed. I haven’t seen the Mini Creme Eggs in years though, so there won’t be a review of those for the foreseeable future.

And anabels, peppermint sounds very good indeed! We don’t get any real changes in flavour here. Pretty annoying really considering we’re Cadbury’s home country.

6 06 2007
babycakes

they have the mini eggs at my local shop 99p for a bag of 11 🙂 there sooo much better then the creme egg bar theres too much chocolate..not enough fondue!

6 06 2007
Terry

I’ll assume you mean fondant, and not fondue, that way your post makes more sense. 😀

6 06 2007
babycakes

yeah i did *laughs* 😀

6 06 2007
Sera

How funny! I thought that the Creme egg bar had more fondant in it than the mini eggs.

You’ll have to find out for us Terry. 😉

6 06 2007
Terry

I hope I’m up to the task, first of all I need to try and find the darn mini eggs though!

If and when I do though I’ll do a lovely comparison of them all. 😀

7 06 2007
babycakes

*laughs* i always find that with dairymilk bars there is usually more chocolate then filling..like the turkish delight one..there not very generous lol 😀

1 01 2009
Concetta

YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM!!!!!!!! I love the creme egg. If it wasn’t so sticky it would probably draw with Fry’s chcoclate cream as best chcoclate bar on my standards. If it also wasn’t so sickly it would be al right. But even so it is YUMMY! 😀

Leave a Reply

