Nestlé Munchies

8 06 2007

Munchies 1Munchies 2Munchies 3

Before I begin, I’ll point out that yes, this is me on film. The webcam is atrocious, but it just about gets the point across. I’ve got no problems showing my face on camera, so once I’ve got a bunch of old reviews out of the way (stuff I’d already eaten before I got the camera) then you can look forward to seeing more of my ugly mug in pictures. I try to use various expressions to get my point across. Should be fun. 😀

Those of you who like to partake in recreational drug usage, will most likely be familiar with the term ‘munchies’, the term meaning when you’re high and become very hungry, and need ‘munchies’ (i.e. food) to satisfy your insatiable appetite. Here, munchies means something different, here it is a chocolate snack.

As you can (hopefully) tell from the pictures, what you get here is a long tube filled with 12 chocolate cubes. Each cube as a biscuit centre, which is then covered by caramel, and then covered again with a layer of milk chocolate. It sounds good, but I’ve had plenty of chocolate in the past that looked and sounded good, yet wasn’t at all.

In fact, these don’t even look good. The chocolate is a poor quality, sort of cheap looking and not too pleasant. The caramel is plentiful and quite thick, but the biscuit centre is…not good. It overpowers everything else with its…well, just bad taste.

I found that eating these in quick succession with just a few bites and then swallow was the best way to do it. They were actually tasty when I did that. But with my last few I had to savour them in different ways in order to get a good feel for the flavour. And quite honestly they were not good when savoured.

The sad thing about these is that they’re also quite expensive. As if Nestle are trying to make us believe these are a high class product or something. Well they’re not fooling me, these are just not that good at all.

The entire pack has 273 calories, 2g of Protein, 34g of Carbs and 13g of Fat.

Actions

Information

11 responses

8 06 2007
babycakes

omg! how can you say that i love me munchies :O lol when i seen the pics i had to go out and get a pack for my lunch today they are now sat in my cupboard with a mm yorkie with raisin (whoever said they werent for girls was mad i tells ya lol 🙂 ) actually none of my friends like munchies either…i feel rather alone lol i wouldnt mind them in white chocolate or dark actually! 😀

8 06 2007
Terry

Well as I said when eaten quickly these weren’t too bad, but eaten slowly…not good at all. I have the Mint Munchies (or should I say After Eight Munchies) that I can eat later today if you want me to review them before anything else. And agreed about the Yorkie, it’s got a massive amount of calories (something like 350) but it’s quite tasty. And I don’t think they’ll be doing many varieties of Munchies, not least until they improve the quality and lower the price of the regular ones so that more people will actually buy them!

8 06 2007
babycakes

oo i like the after eight ones that’d be good 🙂 maybe the calories is why they say its not for girls :S but i cant help it i love nestle chocolate 🙂 🙂 !

8 06 2007
josie

oh, you’re cute! what a bonus!

8 06 2007
Sera

It’s such a shame when chocolate just isn’t any good. *sigh*

Have you tried Topic bar at all? I just had one for the first time the other day and was just blown away by it! It’s essentually a snickers bar that’s smaller and has hazelnuts instead of peanuts!

9 06 2007
Terry

babycakes – After Eights are now up, you were right (this time!)

josie – Thank you, nice to know I look cute even when I’m having to pose with a Munchie between my teeth. 😀

Sera – I know what you mean, hence this blog, now you don’t have to be disappointed as well! I have tried the Topic, it’s good, but my gripe was that it was so small! I just wish it was a bit bigger, because otherwise it’s pretty much perfect.

9 06 2007
babycakes

yay! i was right! 🙂 🙂
topic bars are good arent they but when you finish its like shouldnt there be more 😮 lol 😀

9 06 2007
Terry

Oh and in case you were wondering what you were right about, it was about the After Eight Munchies being good. Topics are sadly also the same weight as most standard chocolates (~50g), so it’s not like they can do much about it.

9 06 2007
babycakes

yay! im not the only one who likes them anymore 😀 i think its better to have a thick small choc bar eg..topic rather than a long thin one eg..curly wurly cos you get more of a mouthful 😀 😮

9 06 2007
Terry

You’re not, but me and you are probably the only ones who do like them, as I’ve never seen anyone else buy them. And I can see your point there, but personally I’d rather have a long, thick one, if you’ll excuse the sexual innuendo.

9 06 2007
babycakes

*laughs* thats just good 😀 i’d have to agree with ya though lol but i dont think there is any…*smiles*

Leave a Reply

