Hershey’s Mounds vs Dark Chocolate Bounty

24 06 2007


Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Mounds is the American version of what we in Britain call a Bounty. Whilst the Mounds only comes in dark chocolate, the Bounty comes in both milk and dark chocolate, but considering the Mounds is dark chocolate, I thought it would be fair to compare it to the Dark Chocolate Bounty. Is there a big difference between the two brands? Let’s find out.

The packs are fairly similar, in a pure contrast between the Bounty Dark and the Mounds, they both use a dark red/white colour scheme, with coconuts of course being pictured on the front of the pack. Both packs also contain two small chocolates, both filled with coconut, but there is a difference in the coconut.

The coconut in the Mounds is almost…wet, it’s a little hard to describe, but it’s not as compact as as the Bounty, and it has a little more juice to it. I wouldn’t say it’s either better nor worse, it’s just different. The design of the chocolates are exactly the same, same size and even the same chocolate pattern on the top of each chocolate.

The tastes are fairly identical as well, the Mounds is a little sweeter I think, but again that makes it neither better nor worse, just different. The two products are nearly identical, in taste, appearance, and also their nutritional values.

The Mounds bar has 240 calories, 2g of Protein, 29g of Carbs (23g of which sugars), and 13g of Fat (10g of which sugars). The Bounty has about the same, it turns out I forgot to write down what the values are and have since thrown away the wrapper, but I’m sure it was similar. I’ll confirm it soon though if anyone wants.

Actions

Information

9 responses

24 06 2007
babycakes

do you think you could maybe review some thorntons continental bars?

24 06 2007
Terry

I have a Thorntons near me back home, or at least used to…so if it’s still standing then I can certainly do that when I finish University next week.

I also bought a few selection boxes from Thorntons a few days ago, a nice selection of…selections, as well as one of their clearance Easter Eggs for a laugh. Much fun to be had there!

24 06 2007
Alyssa

yeah i would agree the mound’s coconut seems a little juicy

25 06 2007
babycakes

cool thanks..im having a thing for thorntons choc at the moment *laughs* i tend to go through choc phases 😀

25 06 2007
Terry

Alyssa – Yeah it kinda…took me by surprise I guess. It was really weird.

babycakes – Not a problem, I’ve been wanting to try Thorntons stuff for awhile but the price always put me off, poor student and all that, but I think I’m gonna start looking at my in and out goings properly so I can set aside some money for this, just to make sure there never comes a point where I have to say “Sorry guys! No review today because I have no money!”, because that would be terrible.

6 07 2009
Poonam

Hmmm, that was interesting. Looks like somethings will always remain mystery.

I myself has been trying to solve the mystery of the legend that forces you to have “earn it before

having it”, for a wile now. Could not understand much though.

Let me know in case you get to understand the mystery of the Old Hound and the Legend

By the way, good writing style. I’d love to read more on similar topics

2 09 2010
BELLYBUTTON STINK

The BIGGEST difference is the chocolate, mounds uses semi sweet ,which is not true dark chocolate. alot of american made candies go the cheaper route, like butter finger versus the clark bar, im american but i hate to say that the euro candies are better quality if you choose to analyze.

4 07 2011
Jennifer

in the states we do have Bounty Bars (or at least we did, I have lived out of the states for a while0 – both milk and Dark the mounds also comes in a milk version, but this also includes almonds and is called Almond Joy – as the old jingle went- sometimes you feel like a nut (klonk klonk) sometimes you don’t… almond joy has nuts, mounds don’t because… sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don’t
Mounds candy bars date back to 1929 (thanks wikipedia) and Bounty 1951 😉

12 07 2014
alex

There is now a Bounty Pineapple, very tasty indeed!

Leave a Reply

