Nestlé Exotic Hokkaido Blueberry and Cheese Kit Kat

4 07 2007

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Kit Kats are back! Just a few that I got in recently, and here’s the first of four: Exotic Blueberry and Cheese.

In some cases, the word ‘exotic’ is a good thing, usually meaning something you’re not used to, but very pleasant. In this case though…exotic blueberry and cheese…suddenly the word ‘exotic’ takes on a whole new meaning. This is slightly different to the Blueberry Fromage Kit Kat I reviewed awhile ago, these have been created by Iron Chef Takagi, so are the ‘posh’ Kit Kats, and from what I can tell only come in very small packs like the one pictured.

The Kit Kat itself here looks like an ordinary white chocolate Kit Kat at first glance, but when bitten into you can in fact see that there is a purple cream between the wafers, which will be the blueberry flavouring. The taste here is really good as well.

What you get is a slight tang of blueberry, mixed with the pungent taste of the cheese. They go together really well, it’s a slightly plain taste, but it’s quite pleasant and whilst I wouldn’t go to the efforts to get this in again, I wouldn’t mind having it again at all.

Actions

Information

10 responses

4 07 2007
Dom

This post has persuaded me that it’s time to place a bulk KitKat order. 🙂

4 07 2007
alice

does it taste like cream cheese?? mascapone for example?? im hoping its not more of a chedder flavour!

4 07 2007
Terry

I look forward to that Dom. Where are you getting yours from?

And alice…neither really, the blueberry is the dominating flavour, but the cheese adds a sort of…texture to it? It’s a little hard to describe, but instead of a tangy blueberry, it’s a sort of pungent blueberry.

4 07 2007
alice

ahhh right! thats a relief! and id just like to add that i love your reviews! just the right mix of old and new stuff! in the non “use by date” sense!

4 07 2007
Terry

If you feel relieved then imagine how I was when I took that first bite! And thanks for the kind words, it makes it all seem worthwhile when people tell me things like that. 🙂

Oh and I do try to get a mix in, but I do try to make it as obvious as I can that if people want me to review something then that will become my top priority, so feel free to ask me to do something if you want.

5 07 2007
Mary

Only in Japan can they create these far-out flavors. Iron Chef inspired – sounds more expensive than a regular KitKat! Is the cheese flavor mixed in with the blueberry creme, or does it come from the white chocolate?

5 07 2007
Terry

I…don’t know…I guess that’s what I get for not eating the chocolate seperately to the wafer, which I used to do when I was a kid with regular Kit Kats. Sorry I don’t have an answer for you, if I had to guess though I *think* it’s in the chocolate. Just a guess though.

5 07 2007
Sera

Oooh, I loved these! The Exotic Tokyo is by far my favorite of them all (I’ve yet to try Hokkaido II and Kansai II) and Kyushu/Hokkaido comes in second. 🙂

6 07 2007
Terry

Well Sera, I won’t pretend I know what flavours you’re talking about because of the sheer amount that Japan has. But well…good for you I guess. 😀

6 07 2007
Sera

Ha, yes, I’m the Queen of Japanese Kitkats. 😛

Leave a Reply

