Nestlé Koshian Maccha Green Tea Kit Kat

7 07 2007

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

The last Japanese Kit Kat for a while again. This is another green tea variety, Koshian Maccha this time. Again I’m not sure what the difference is between this and ordinary green tea, so if someone wants to fill me in there then I’d be delighted, but I’m lead to believe that it has red bean in this as well. I reviewed the red (azuki) bean Kit Kat a while ago, and was impressed with its sweet, nutty flavour. So with the green tea flavour as well, I’m looking forward to this.

The pack is a lighter green than yesterday’s, which bodes well as far as I’m concerned. The bar is also a lighter green, and instead of smelling like tea, it just smells…sweet. There isn’t much aroma to it other than a very sweet smell.

The taste is sadly very plain as well. It’s hard to make out anything at all, I think there’s a little green tea there, but that’s only because it said so on the pack, so I’m really looking for it. Other than that, all I get is a sweet, creamy chocolate flavour coming through. It’s nice, just not what I was expecting.

A little disappointing in the end, there isn’t much to this bar. It’s a cross between the chestnut and the Uji-Kintoko green tea bars, but both do what they set out do better.

Note: These have been discontinued so if you want them then get them in ASAP. I’ve seen them around eBay but they’ll only last so long.

Actions

Information

12 responses

9 07 2007
Sera

These are the BEST green tea/matcha Kitkats I’ve had to date…and I’ve been tasting them all for about 2 years now. :3

9 07 2007
Terry

Well that worries me a bit then, as I hardly gave these a great review!

9 07 2007
Sera

I woudn’t necessarily worry, matcha can be a strange taste to get used to. 😛

9 07 2007
Terry

Is it worth getting used to? As in will a whole new world of food be available to me if I actually start to like it?

9 07 2007
Sera

It depends if you want to aquire a taste for it or not…a lot of Japanese food/candy has matcha in it, so it just opens a lot of doors for something “different”. It certainly grew on me (as well as anko) as I started eating it more of it.

10 07 2007
Terry

Well I’ll keep that in mind. So far the vast majority of Japanese candy has been disappointment after disappointment…

13 07 2007
Jess

Matcha is a dried, concentrated green tea powder. It’s used in a lot of Japanese confections (as Sera mentioned) and is generally a bit more bitter than green tea itself. This is supposed to be counteracted and balanced by the sweetness of the confection itself, a combination Japanese palates are used to. Matcha Kit-Kat is one of my least-favorite confections using it; sure, it tastes creamy and a bit sweet, but it doesn’t trump the Hokkaido Milk, Summer Melon, or Sakura Blossom varieties from Kit-Kat Japan.

So far, the best matcha confection I’ve had is Matcha Pocky Mousse. The Pocky stick (which, if you haven’t eaten it before, is like a thinner, longer Cadbury Finger only 3/4 of it dipped in topping) is a somewhat maple-flavored graham crackery cookie with a creamy but not biter matcha mousse.

13 07 2007
Terry

Well well well, thanks for that Jess! I’ve tried many varieties of Pocky in the past and have a LOAD sitting in my cupboard, one of which is the Matcha Pocky Mousse! You make it sound good, and make me feel a little silly for not knowing all of that. You’ll be able to find me crying on the floor underneath the dining room table…

13 07 2007
Sera

I’m going to be a killyjoy and say that I acutally dislike the Matcha ousee Pocky. It’s really greasy tasting and the matcha flavor isn’t strong enough for me. That might work for you though….

13 07 2007
Terry

What might work for me? The greasy taste? I’m just kidding, it may indeed suit my tastes perfectly, but there’s only one way to find out!

13 07 2007
Jess

I didn’t notice the grease so much in that particular mousse as I did the Purple Sweet Potato which was, IMHO, grainy and absolutely awful. Then again, that was last year’s crop; I’ve yet to try this year’s batch of the Matcha, though. Sera’s right that there’s less matcha flavor to it than other confections containing it (and thus not a whole lot of bitterness) but it’s perhaps better suited to western tastes than most.

13 07 2007
Terry

Purple Sweet Potato? Lordy lord, please tell me that’s not an actual flavour? Glad I missed out on that one.

Leave a Reply

