Hershey’s Zero Bar

12 07 2007

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.usFree Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.usFree Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

At the semi-request of the young lady who sent me the box that this was a part of, I decided to review the Zero bar, also because it was the only one there I had actually had before.

I remember being extremely fond of this before, and looking at the tagline I could imagine myself enjoying it again – ‘CARAMEL, PEANUT and ALMOND Nougat covered with WHITE FUDGE’, and yes those words I put in capital letters are in capital letters on the pack.

The wrapper is an odd grey colour, which is something I don’t think I’ve ever seen in a chocolate bar, and to be honest I think it looks pretty cool, at least as cool as a wrapper can be.

The bar itself is white on the outside, and on the inside is exactly as described – the soft nougat takes up the majority of the bar’s innards, with relatively large pieces of peanut in there as well as the extremely sticky caramel on top of it.

And it still tastes so good, every flavour in the bar comes through excellently. The white fudge is mild and cracks nicely when bitten into. The nougat is soft with the almonds being surprisingly strong, and the caramel and peanuts add their own texture to the bar, with less taste there.

The bar has 240 calories (80 from fat), 3g Protein, 36g Carbohydrates (30g of which sugars) and 9g Fat (6g of which saturates). I recommend this bar if you like nutty chocolate bars but are bored of hazelnuts and peanuts, as the main flavour here is that of the almonds.

P.S. You may note a serious increase in quality from these pictures. That’s because I’m using my mother’s digital camera, so enjoy the increase in quality of the chocolate, and decrease in quality of my face! 😦


Actions

Information

8 responses

12 07 2007
Sera

Happy to hear you love this one as much as I do!

Both you and Zero aren’t smiling in that last pic, cute! 🙂

12 07 2007
Terry

It says something when I take pictures of myself smiling and grinning like an idiot, and have to go with the neutral expression.

Perhaps I’ll try a smile tomorrow…

13 07 2007
Sera

I know what you mean. I “over smile” in photos WAY too easily and look stupid because of it. 😛

13 07 2007
Jeanna

I used to avoid these like the plague as a kid, but recently got one in a Decade’s box for my birthday and was pleasantly surprised by how tasty it was.

13 07 2007
Jess

Zero’s one of three candies I really dig from Hershey, and I would rank it third in my hierarchy. The other two (both of which I noticed you reviewed rather positively) are the Reece’s cup and Reece’s Pieces, the latter of which I’ve been known to binge on for weeks at a time.

13 07 2007
Terry

Sera – I’d say that you don’t look stupid from what I’ve seen, but we’ve discussed that before anyway. 😛

Jeanna – I think most of us have something like that. I used to completely avoid any chocolate that had nuts in as a child, my word was I missing out!

Jess – Great minds (or perhaps just tastebuds) thing alike, eh? And uhh…weeks at a time? That’s pretty hardcore. 😀

29 09 2008
Barbara

I absolutely love ZERO Bars. Cool chocolate is to die for but White Chocolate is my absolute favorite. Can’t seem to buy them anymore. Soooo sad…..

10 09 2009
sandrar

Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a comment