Starburst Choozers

17 07 2007

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

‘The chews that ooze’ are the latest Starburst product. They only came out a couple of weeks ago and so I figured with the ad campaign and everything, I should try and put up a review posthaste.

To be honest, as you’ll see below the advert doesn’t tempt me that much, the ‘ooze’ looks really thick and…just not that good. But eh, only one way to find out how these are. In fact, watching the advert again, it sounds like the guys at Starburst recorded someone making a mess of their toilet in the way we’re all familiar with, it’s quite disgusting really.

There are three flavours that I will review individually: Orange & Mango, Raspberry & Orange and Pineapple & Orange, so evidently orange is the flavour of the day.

Orange & Mango – Really nice flavour. The sweet itself is orange, with the liquid centre being mango flavoured, so orange is the main flavour with the mango coming through and then going. Very sweet, but really pleasant.

Raspberry & Orange – A much tamer flavour than the previous one. Raspberry is the base flavour here, and it’s not as strong as the orange flavour. Still very good though.

Pineapple & Orange – I’m not a fan of pineapple, and here it’s the base flavour. It’s a strong pineapple and tastes very true to normal pineapple. The orange doesn’t come through at all though which is a shame. Pineapple fans will like this.

I haven’t actually put up my other Starburst articles (a redux of the original Starburst, as well as the Strawberry Chews), but suffice it to say this is by far the best of the lot. The flavours are all good, real fruity flavours without relying too much on artificial sweeteners and flavours.

I thought these would be a bit gimmicky, but congratulations to Starburst, they’ve done a good job here. The pack has 162 calories, 0g Protein, 34.3g Carbohydrates and 2.5g Fat.


Actions

Information

23 responses

17 07 2007
alice

that advert is quite manky!
but i LOVE the sweets! they are yum……i find some of them a little too tangy if im feeling delicate that day though!

17 07 2007
Alyssa

hmm… i have had normal starburst but not the choozers.

17 07 2007
babycakes

i prefer the sour ones there just gooorge mm 😛

17 07 2007
Terry

Alice – Feeling delicate? What do you mean by that? And manky…I haven’t heard anyone say that in years. 😀

Alyssa – Pretty sure these are UK only which would explain things.

babycakes – Sour ones? Where can I find them? I’ve never seen them anywhere. 😦

17 07 2007
babycakes

the flavours are cherry,pineapple,apple and raspberry…well i can get them anywhere from spar to smile stores ect.. but no big places.. 😦 😉

17 07 2007
Terry

Small stores only? I guess I’ll have to check my local corner shop then, as we’ve got no Spars or anything around here.

17 07 2007
alice

delicate: my tongue doesnt want a bashing that day!! the kind of day you only want bangers and mash!

manky: ha! i know! i love the word though….it reminds me of the sitcom “dinnerladies”…….sparkle always said it…..me and my friends use it a lot and we’re little ‘uns! i think everyone should say it again!

17 07 2007
Terry

I must say I’m not familiar with days where I only want to eat bangers and mash, those must be strange days…

And yes it’s a great word, dinnerladies is old school, I haven’t seen that in years either. You’re a little ‘un, eh? Isn’t it past your bedtime then? 😉

17 07 2007
alice

i have them about once a month…..they’re quite relaxing!

i love dinnerladies…..victoria wood is generally great!

yep a little ‘un i am…..i would usually be in bed of course(!) but GCSEs mean an early summer so ill be reading and commenting on this inbetween painting the town red etc etc

17 07 2007
Terry

I think I might try that one day this summer then, wake up to a plate of bangers and mash, for lunch I’ll have another hot plate of bangers and mash and finish the day with a piping hot meal consisting of bangers and mash. Sounds delicious!

And you’re not as young as I thought you would be, you must be about 16 right? Good ol’ GCSEs, I remember doing absolutely no revision for them and yet here I am at University, what a joke. And painting the town red at 16? I’ll have to contact your parents about that…

18 07 2007
Sera

OOoo, Terry, these sound delish! I’ve always been a big fan of Starburst (isn’t the normal roll over there have black currant in them? I forget…) and these sound too tempting for words! They’d make a good surprise… 😉

18 07 2007
Terry

Yes indeed the normal packs have blackcurrant, though as far as I’m concerned…bleh, in fact I reviewed them a few months ago so check that out if you want. A good surprise eh? I know what you’re getting at, though it would hardly be much of a surprise now, would it!?

18 07 2007
alice

yep 16…….ha my mummy and daddy know my every move thanks very much, so no worries there!

yep….looking forward to the results so i can move on to AS levels!

yeah GCSEs are pretty easy….the only thing is that you do so many of them!

18 07 2007
Terry

Mmm, I’m sure they do…

Good idea carrying on with the education, I couldn’t imagine working full time at that age. And it’s the same deal with A Levels and the Degree I’m afraid, except instead of big subjects, you now have big modules, and they’re worse than separate subjects…you actually have to work for them. 😦

18 07 2007
alice

haha!

ive got LOTS to look forward to then! brilliant! at the moment i love the subjects ive choosen but ill probably hate them by the end of two years! ha! nah i couldnt be working now……itd be horrible!

18 07 2007
Terry

You certainly do, I liked the subjects I chose as well and by the time I finished I hated them, not saying you’ll be the same way but yeah…just a warning. And it certainly would be horrible, just working full time for the summer holidays was bad enough. 40 hours a week in a supermarket…ugh…

18 07 2007
Sera

Ohh, I’l look through the archives.

I can play dumb. 😉

18 07 2007
Terry

It’s not quite the same though. As it happens they come in roll packs so I can get one of them instead of the big bag, unless you really do want these then that’s fine with me. 😛

18 07 2007
Alyssa

darn! you guys get turkish delight and tasty starbursts

18 07 2007
Sera

Whatever is cheaper for you Terry. 🙂 And yes, I’d really love to try these, the orange pineapple flavor is just singing to me!!! 🙂

18 07 2007
Terry

Alyssa – Considering you guys get a lot of peanut butter stuff and a much bigger range in general, I’d say we’re about even. 😀

Sera – How kind of you to give me that choice. These will go on the list then. 🙂

19 07 2007
Sera

Thank you! ❤

11 03 2008
helibaybee

well i hope theyre ok as jus bought 1kilo on ebay for £2.50 bang goes another diet! 🙂

Leave a comment